US OKs new sanctions against Russia, Iran, North Korea


A new sanctions bill against Russia, Iran and North Korea has been approved by the House of Representatives.

The House of Representatives on Tuesday overwhelmingly approved a new and comprehensive sanctions bill against Russia, Iran and North Korea.

The "Countering America's Adversaries Through Sanctions Act," passed by a vote of 419 - 3, and includes sanctions against Russian officials in retaliation for their alleged interference in the 2016 presidential election, and against Iran and North Korea in response to their weapons programs.

The vote also amounted to a rebuke of President Donald Trump, whose administration had pushed to water down the bill's provisions giving Congress the power to veto the removal of sanctions, according to media reports.

"This strong oversight is necessary. It is appropriate. After all, it is Congress that the Constitution empowers to regulate commerce with foreign nations," Foreign Affairs Committee Chairman Ed Royce said.

The measure now needs Senate approval and could be sent to Trump before Congress begins its August recess.

Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov on Monday warned the U.S. that any new sanctions would not only harm relations between Moscow and Washington but also other countries.

His remarks came two days after House and Senate leaders agreed on legislation that includes new sanctions against Russia for Moscow's alleged meddling in the 2016 U.S. presidential election.

The European Union opposes the Russian sanctions, with EU Commission president Jean-Claude Juncker saying they would harm the interests of European businesses.

Contact Us