Galatasaray youngster praised for deliberate penalty miss
The captain of Galatasaray's Under-14 team has earned praise with a rare act of sportsmanship as he deliberately missed a penalty following what he believed was a wrong call by the referee.
Beknaz Almazbekov, Galatasaray's 13-year-old captain, dribbled inside from the left and fell down under pressure from an Istanbulspor defender in the box.
The referee gave a penalty, but Almazbekov disagreed.
With his team already winning 1-0, he rejected the opportunity to double their lead and intentionally kicked the ball out of play. The match took place on March 24.
Almazbekov's side went on to beat Istanbulspor 3-0.