Turkey exempts visa requirements for some EU states, Britain

File Photo

Turkey announced on Thursday that it would provide the citizens of five Schengen countries and the U.K. with a 90-day visa exemption for touristic travel. This step aims to further develop tourism potential, as well as commercial, economic and cultural relations with Austria, Belgium, the Netherlands, Spain, Poland and the U.K, said a written statement by the Foreign Ministry Spokesman Hami Aksoy.

Turkey has decided to exempt visa requirements for citizens from European Union countries Austria, Belgium, the Netherlands, Spain and Poland, as well Britain, for tourism up to 90 days as of March 2, the Foreign Ministry spokesman said on Thursday.

He said Turkey aimed to boost tourism, as well as business and cultural relations, with the visa exemption. The move could also support Turkey's current account balance.

The number of foreign arrivals in Turkey has surged 14.11% in 2019, boosting Turkey's tourism revenues to $34.5 billion, data from Tourism Ministry and Turkish Statistical Institute showed in January.

Contact Us